DUI checkpoint laws
New Alabama law requires more DUI offenders to install ignition interlocks
Everyone arrested for drunk driving in Alabama now must get ignition interlock devices if they want to keep their driving privileges. A new state law requiring drivers who enter pretrial diversion programs to install the devices took effect July 1. MADD has supported legislation requiring all DUI offenders to have an ignition interlock for more than a decade. For several years, Alabama has required some first-time DUI offenders and all repeat offenders to install ignition interlocks. The new law says a person arrested for DUI who enters pretrial diversion must have an ignition interlock for at least six months or until they complete pretrial diversion.
According to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, 874 drivers in the state have licenses restricted to driving with an interlock device. The new law requires interlock companies to provide devices for a minimum number of indigent offenders – 5 percent of all the customers the devices they provide. Chris Conrad, who installs ignition interlocks at CKR Mobile Technology in Montgomery, said if a driver fails too many tests or skips too many retests, the devices lock them out and they have to bring them in and pay a $15 service fee to have them unlocked. Morton said ignition devices add a key safeguard because license suspensions don’t necessarily prevent a DUI offender from driving drunk again. The devices allow the person with a DUI conviction or charge to still drive to work and take care of their responsibilities.
Tyus applauds the requirement for more ignition interlocks and believes it will help save lives, although she concedes some will still find ways to get behind the wheel while impaired. A first conviction for DUI in Alabama results in a 90-day license suspension, but the offender can elect to have an ignition interlock for 90 days in lieu of the suspension.
Colorado felony DUI law: New sentence mandates go into effect Wednesday
A law requiring anyone convicted of a felony DUI offense in Colorado to spend some time behind bars – even if they are granted a probationary sentence – goes into effect Wednesday, closing a loophole that has allowed some to avoid being locked up while others receive lengthy prison stints. The legislation, passed by lawmakers earlier this year, requires felony drunken drivers to serve 90 to 180 days in jail if a judge decides to give them probation. If a work release program is available and is part of an offender’s sentence, that person is required to serve 120 days to two years in jail. The Denver Post last year reviewed sentencing data on felony driving under the influence and found judges were handing out wildly different sentences for habitual drunken drivers, with about 8 percent of those defendants convicted of felony DUI receiving no incarceration time at all. Nearly 30 percent of the cases reviewed resulted in a prison sentence.
Colorado enacted a law in 2015 that made a fourth and all subsequent DUI offenses a felony. From that time to the end of last year, 635 people were convicted of the offense, which carries a possible prison sentence of two to six years. Of those, 490 were sentenced to jail and 170 were also sentenced to prison. District attorneys have complained about the disparities, highlighting cases in which egregious drunken drivers were not sentenced to any time behind bars. His blood-alcohol level in that arrest was later determined to be 0.235, nearly three times Colorado’s limit of.08, authorities said.
The new law also mandates that felony DUI offenders serve 48 to 120 hours of public service and that they cannot be released early from incarceration through sentence reductions. The new sentencing provisions apply to DUI cases filed Wednesday or beyond.
Restoring Your License or Registration
Please include your driver’s license number on all payments. If the license was surrendered and has expired, follow the same steps for a standard license renewal to obtain a new license. If you receive three license suspensions within a three-year period, you may lose your license for up to three years. If you get 12 or more points on your current driving record, your license will be suspended. Requires drivers to fulfill the terms of traffic citations received in member states or face the possibility of license suspension in their home state.
Surrender the registration certificate(s) and license plates to the MVC; AND submit a photocopy of the receipt for the surrendered license plates. If the license plates are no longer in your possession, you must submit an RSC-6 form explaining what happened to the license plates. Please include your name, driver’s license number, and day time phone number on all correspondence. If your registration privileges are suspended, you should not drive or operate the vehicle(s) until you have received written notification from the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission that your registration privileges, and the registration for that vehicle, have been restored. If your driving privileges have been suspended, you should not operate a vehicle until you have received written notification from the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission that your driving privileges have been restored.
If both your driving and registration privileges are suspended, they will not be restored until the above mentioned requirements are met and a $100 restoration fee for each privilege affected is submitted. If you are unlicensed and under 17 years of age at the time of the incident, you are subject to a 30-90 day delay in processing your driver license.