How Strict are Maryland DUI Laws?
Idaho’s 0.08% BAC Law Remember … it is illegal to drive in Idaho with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more. While some people might be able to cover the outward signs, no one-no matter what they say – can change the body’s reaction to alcohol. If you are with a group, designate a sober driver, take a taxi, or make arrangements before you go out drinking to have someone drive you home. Impaired driving still takes far too great a human and economic toll.
Over 39% of Idaho’s fatal collisions are caused by people driving under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs. In Idaho, it is illegal to drive under the influence of drugs or with a breath alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more, and 0.02% or greater if you are under 21. If you are found guilty of the CRIMINAL charge of driving under the influence, you are subject to the following penalties: The FIRST DUI Misdemeanor violation Jail: up to 6 months Fines: up to $1,000 License suspension: 90 to 180 days The SECOND DUI within 10 Years How Idaho’s DUI Laws Work Idaho law enforcement officers are trained to detect a person driving under the influence. Each year, over 10,000 drivers are arrested in Idaho for DUI. If you drive under the influence, the chances are you will be arrested.
If the police officer has cause to believe that you are driving under the influence, you will be asked to take a BAC test. Under Idaho law, if you refuse, your driver’s license will be taken away and your driving privileges will be suspended for 1 year along with a $250 civil penalty. Jail time, fines and driving suspension are enhanced. What YOU should know about Idaho’s Repeat DUI Offender Law As a weapon against the dangers of repeat drunk drivers Idaho requires the installation of a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device on any vehicle a repeat DUI offender drives.
Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety
O.C.G.A. 40-5-55: Implied consent to chemical tests. O.C.G.A. 40-5-57.1: Revocation of licenses of persons under age 21 for certain offenses; issuance of new license following revocation. O.C.G.A. 40-5-67: Seizure and disposition of driver’s license of persons charged with driving under the influence; issuance of temporary driving permit; disposition of cases. O.C.G.A. 40-5-67.1: Chemical tests; implied consent notices; rights of motorists; testresults; refusal to submit; suspension or denial; hearing and review. O.C.G.A. 40-5-75: Suspension of licenses by operation of law for conviction of possession, distribution, manufacture, cultivation, sale or transfer of controlled substances or marijuana; or driving under the influence of the substance.
O.C.G.A. 40-6-391: Addresses driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs or other intoxicating substances; penalties for first, second and subsequent convictions; child endangerment. O.C.G.A. 40-6-391.1: Nolo contendere please; requirement to attend an alcohol and drug course. O.C.G.A. 40-6-391.3: Penalty for conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs while driving a school bus. O.C.G.A. 40-6-392: Chemical tests for alcohol or drugs in blood. O.C.G.A. 40-6-393: Homicide by vehicle.
O.C.G.A. 40-6-393.1: Feticide by vehicle. O.C.G.A. 40-6-394: Serious injury by vehicle.
Kansas senators begin work on bill modifying DUI law
Senators on Monday began the task of overhauling Kansas’ drunk driving laws to crack down on offenders and replace a state law that allowed police officers to compel suspects to take a blood alcohol test. Kansas’ defunct law dictated that operating a vehicle was enough to imply consent to testing to determine a person’s alcohol consumption. The bills would also lower penalties in some cases where suspected drunk drivers refuse to take a test. Sen. Rick Wilborn, a McPherson Republican and chair of the committee, said he was not sure when he would schedule any further debate or a vote on the bill.
Aaron Breitenbach, chief attorney in the traffic division of the Sedgwick County district attorney’s office, argued against a limited-scope bill dealing with test refusals and in favor of a comprehensive overhaul of DUI laws. He said the bill would solve only some of the problems in current state law and misstates the law, potentially jeopardizing every DUI investigation. The overhaul bill would also seek stronger enforcement of DUI laws by allowing prosecutors to consider drivers’ previous infractions in other states. Ann Henderson, with the Johnson County district attorney’s office, said a repeat drunk driving offender in the Kansas City area was initially charged with several felony-level offenses that had to be amended to two misdemeanors and a felony because the state could not take previous offenses in other states into account. Henderson said Johnson County has 25 percent of the felony-level DUI cases in the state.
Wilborn said the bill would reform DUI law that has become confusing through tweaks and court cases. The overhaul bill would also set a zero tolerance policy regarding controlled substances. A driver could be charged with a DUI for any amount of controlled substance, not just an intoxicating level.