DMV: Operating Under the Influence

Beginning with arrest dates on or after July 1, 2015, all driver license suspensions for failing or refusing a chemical alcohol test will be forty-five days. If you are convicted in court for operating while under the influence of alcohol or drugs under Connecticut General Statute 14-227a, 14-227g, 14-227m, or14-227n for the same arrest, the IID may be required for a longer term. Court conviction for Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs. If the 45 day suspension for failing or refusing a chemical test for the same arrest has already been served, may be eligible for restoration immediately if there are no other suspensions. IID required for one year following restoration, or for the duration required under the Administrative Per Se law, whichever is longer. If already reinstated with an IID following the suspension for failing or refusing a chemical test for the same arrest, the IID will be credited toward completion of the one year requirement. If already reinstated with an IID following the suspension for failing or refusing a chemical test for the same arrest, the IID will be credited toward completion of the three year requirement. If no other suspensions, eligible for restoration after the 45 day suspension regardless of whether the suspension for failing or refusing a chemical test for the same arrest has been fully served. 45 days license suspension, or until 21st birthday, whichever is longer. 3 year license suspension, or until 21st birthday, whichever is longer.

Keywords: [“suspension”,”IID”,”year”]

Do I Need a Lawyer for My DC DUI Charge? –

If you have been charged with a DUI, DWI or OWI in Washington DC, you are in an uphill battle. Dealing with DUI, DWI or OWI charge can be frightening, stressful and very complicated. With the help of the right, experienced DC DUI lawyer you can fight the charge and may even beat it. Retaining an experienced DUI lawyer will also reduce the anxiety, stress and the the infinite number of questions in your mind when facing a DUI charge. All traffic stops must be performed with reasonable suspicion that the driver has either violated the motor vehicle code or with reasonable suspicion that the driver is engaged in some type of criminal activity. In defending against the officers claim, the defense does not have to show or prove that there your vehicle did not make this type of movement. The stop is legal only if the officer is able to point to specific and articulable facts which, taken together with rational inferences from those facts, reasonably warrant the officer’s stop of your vehicle. In the District of Columbia, it is always the prosecution’s burden to show that there is a valid exception to the warrant requirement of the 4th Amendment to arrest you for suspicion of DUI. A warrantless arrest is only valid if it is based upon probable cause. Hopefully this assists you to be thinking more thoroughly about your own DUI case. It is highly recommended, by anyone who has faced and successfully challenged a DUI charge in the past, that you speak to an experienced DC DUI lawyer.

Keywords: [“DUI”,”officer”,”stop”]

Bad Drunk Driving Laws, False Evidence and a Fading Constitution

In July of last year, I wrote about then 18-year-old Obdulia Sanchez, who livestreamed her own DUI-related collision which killed her 14-year-old passenger sister. At the time, Sanchez pleaded not guilty to gross vehicular manslaughter and several other felony offenses. On January 24th Sanchez withdrew her not guilty plea and entered a plea of no contest and just today was sentenced to six years and four months in prison. In July of 2017, Sanchez, who was from Stockton, California, was livestreaming herself driving with her sister, Jacqueline and another 14-year-old in the back seats. Sanchez’s video recorded the collision from the inside of the vehicle. Sanchez’s blood alcohol content was later determined to be 0.10 percent and she was subsequently charged with felony vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence, felony manslaughter while intoxicated, two counts of felony driving under the influence resulting in injury and two counts of felony driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or more causing injury. Members of Sanchez’s family pleaded with the court to grant her probation. Sanchez’s public defender also requested probation arguing that prison time would further harm Sanchez who had a difficult childhood. Judge Ronald Hansen disagreed with both the district attorney and Sanchez’s attorney saying that both 12 years in prison and probation were inappropriate. According to Sanchez’s attorney, with prop 57, Sanchez may get out of jail in 2020.

Keywords: [“Sanchez”,”prison”,”attorney”]

Northern California DUI Attorney

A DUI arrest, according to California DUI Law, can have a serious affect on your life if handled improperly. They have the time, personnel, and other resources to work toward a conviction on your DUI In California. California DUI laws are also complicated and you need a highly trained drunk driving lawyer by your side. Don’t make the mistake of thinking that a quick guilty plea is the best way to avoid trouble if you are charged with a DUI In California. This may include DUI penalties, a DWI felony and drunk driving fines in CA. When you’re facing a CA DUI charge, you need an aggressive, experienced Northern California DUI attorney on your side. If you want a lawyer who is willing to fight for your rights, who is not afraid to put the police to the test, and who will give your case every available opportunity for success, including California DMV hearing matters, you’ve found that drunk driving defense lawyer. Our Northern California DUI Attorneys and support staff stand ready to help you in weathering the stressful days ahead as we look into and challenge your pending charges. For case specific consultation, you are encouraged to set up a Free Case Evaluation either in person, or over the phone with a Northern California DUI attorney. Professional assistance is always available to you through a Northern California DUI attorney. You can get assistance either through a personal appointment with an attorney, or without leaving home through phone assistance by a lawyer.

Keywords: [“DUI”,”California”,”attorney”]