Driving Laws, Penalties and Jail Information
Under Nevada law, it is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of intoxicating liquor; or has a concentration of alcohol of 0.08 or more in his blood or breath; or is found by measurement within 2 hours after driving or being in actual physical control of a vehicle to have a concentration of alcohol of 0.08 or more in his blood or breath, to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle on a highway or on premises to which the public has access. If you’ve previously been convicted of a felony DUI, subsequent DUI charges are considered felonies under Nevada law. Misdemeanor) probation; two days jail probation; 10+ days jail; $750+ in fines and fees; Alcohol classes at a Nevada DUI school; Attendance at a Victim’s Impact Panel class; one year license suspension. A DUI conviction will go on your Nevada driving record and will stay on your record forever. If you are a Nevada licensed driver and you are convicted of a DUI charge in another state, Nevada will likely suspend your license if it learns of the conviction. The FAA has special reporting requirements for certain Motor Vehicle Actions including Nevada DUI convictions and certain administrative driver license suspensions. If you live outside of Nevada and you’re facing a misdemeanor DUI charge, you may be able to have a lawyer appear in your place for most court appearances assuming that you hire an attorney ahead of time. The most serious scenario is when you receive a new Nevada DUI charge when you’re already on probation for a previous DUI conviction. You have a constitutional right to represent yourself on any Nevada criminal charge no matter how serious including an Nevada DUI charge. Keep in mind that Nevada DUI defense is a complex area of the law as shown by the information in this website.
Colorado DUI Attorney
Colorado DUI Attorney Kevin Churchill provides experienced DUI defense representation in all Denver metro area counties, including all misdemeanor and felony cases related to Driving Under the Influence. Our law firm accepts DUI cases within Colorado State only, and most commonly provides defense representation in Denver, as well as Golden, Littleton, Boulder, Aurora, Brighton, Broomfield, Castle Rock, Greeley, Fort Collins, Colorado Springs, Georgetown, Breckenridge, Vail and other courts. A veteran of hundreds of DUI defense cases in the State of Colorado, Kevin Churchill will carefully examine the evidence of each case to give you the best possible chance of avoiding a conviction for DUI or DWAI. Analyzing the scientific accuracy of your blood or breath test, the legality of your traffic stop, whether your field sobriety tests were given to you properly, and whether all of your rights were explained to you – are all part of the defense of every DUI case. Many Colorado lawyers mistakenly assume that DUI cases are straight forward, and that, unless there is an obvious problem with the evidence, they should recommend that their client plead guilty. The fact is that DUI cases are quite complex, and involve many layers of analysis, including complicated science. A DUI conviction can have life changing consequences. The sentences for DUI or DWAI can be severe in the State of Colorado. For those with a professional driver’s license, a DUI conviction can cause you to lose your employment, in some cases permanently. As you can see, it is important not to take a DUI conviction if it can be avoided. We will answer questions that you may have about your case, the law in Colorado, the procedure you will face in court, how to request a DMV hearing – and any other questions you may have.
DUI Laws & DUI Penalties by State, Drunk Driving DWI Consequences
The legal limits for these drivers are lower and will vary from State to State. In addition to the ‘per se’ laws, in many States drivers can also be prosecuted for driving a vehicle while visibly impaired through alcohol and/or drugs, regardless of a drivers actual BAC. DUI Penalties. Most States have enhanced penalties for drivers convicted of DUI with a high blood alcohol content. Any driver convicted of drunk driving with a high BAC will face stiffer penalties such as increased fines and / or jail time and longer revocation / suspension periods. Forfeiture / seizure of a drunk drivers vehicle or license plates could also be a possibility and ignition interlock drivers license restrictions are common in many States. If a driver is charged with DUI or an alcohol related driving offense, in most States it will usually involve two separate hearings, a criminal hearing held in a criminal court and an administrative drivers license hearing. The State agency responsible for motor vehicles and driving licenses, usually the Department of Motor Vehicles will undertake the administrative hearing. Drivers license revocation or suspension will inevitably follow a DUI / drunk driving conviction and often before a conviction if a chemical test has been refused. Drivers convicted of an alcohol related driving offense will also see an increase in their auto insurance rates and will often have to submit an SR-22 filing or an FR-44 filing if they are residents of Florida. If you or someone you care about has been charged with DUI / drunk driving or any other alcohol related driving offense then it is recommended that an experienced DUI lawyer is contacted as soon as possible, this is especially important if there are one or more aggravating factors involved in the DUI / drunk driving case.