Oklahoma DUI Law Part 1: Do I have to submit to field sobriety tests?
Personal Injury, Wrongful Death, DUI Attorney
The Law Offices of Dwayne Green handles personal injury, wrongful death, parole and pardon cases. Dwayne Green has over 20 years of experience as trial lawyer helping clients and their families with their legal needs. If you have been in an accident and have sustained an injury which is not your fault, or if you have recently lost a loved one in an automobile or trucking collision, we can help. Dwayne also handles DUI’s and criminal defense matters for clients who need representation in those areas. If you choose our firm to represent you, we will keep you advised on the status of your case and will personally handle your legal matter until it is resolved. We take pride in keeping our clients informed on the status of their cases and seek to have each matter handled as efficiently and expediently as possible. In the event your case requires a jury trial, we use our experience and training to seek the best possible court result on your behalf. If you have a legal problem or question and you are not sure whether or not you need legal representation, please review this website and contact us in the event we may be of assistance. We are conveniently located in downtown Charleston at the corner of Congress and Rutledge Avenue. We thank you for your interest in our law firm, and we look forward to being of service and helping you with your legal needs.
Utah poised to enact nation’s strictest DUI law
Utah Gov. Gary Herbert is likely to sign new legislation passed Wednesday that would make the Beehive State as intolerant to drunk driving as most European countries. State senators on Wednesday voted to advance a bill that would drop the legal blood-alcohol limit to 0.05 percent, down from the current limit of 0.08 percent. Legislators who backed the bill said the average man would reach the 0.05 limit after three drinks and the average woman after two drinks. The National Transportation Safety Board recommended in 2013 that states reduce blood alcohol limits to 0.05 percent. The ABI opposed the reduction, which they said would hurt business without significantly reducing the number of accidents. Herbert has not formally said whether he will sign the bill, though a spokeswoman said he supported it. Utah was the first state to implement the 0.08 limit, and it maintains some of the strictest DUI laws in the nation. Anyone convicted of driving under the influence faces a 120-day license suspension, vehicle impoundment and an ignition interlock that will not allow a vehicle to start unless a driver is sober. Washington state lawmakers are also considering reducing the blood alcohol limit to 0.05 percent. Hawaii legislators considered but voted down a similar measure last month.
MADD celebrates signing of Nevada DUI law – Las Vegas Review-Journal
CARSON CITY – Mothers Against Drunk Driving is praising Nevada elected officials for passing Senate Bill 259, making Nevada the 30th state to require ignition interlocks after a drunk driving offense. The bill was signed into law by Gov. Brian Sandoval on Monday and will take effect by Oct. 1, 2018. SB259 will require anyone arrested with a 0.08 blood alcohol concentration and above to use an interlock for 90 days after an arrest. Upon conviction, a judge must order an ignition interlock for at least six months unless the judge determines this would not serve the interests of justice. Currently, Nevada requires ignition interlocks for first offenders with a blood alcohol content of 0.18 or greater for a period of at least one year, and judges have the option of ordering first-time offenders with a BAC of 0.08 to 0.17 for three to six months. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, ignition interlocks stop repeat drunk driving offenses by 67 percent compared with license suspension alone. Nevada is the second state this month to become an all-offender state, meaning anyone who seeks driving privileges after an offense must use an ignition interlock. Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin also signed an all-offender ignition interlock bill into law this month.
DUI law undergoes significant change
There are drivers arrested across the state every day who are accused of Driving Under the Influence. On July 1, a major change that has already impacted many drivers in Georgia became law. When a driver is stopped by law enforcement and investigated for DUI, he is usually arrested. Prior to July 1, if a driver received a 1205 form based on refusing to provide a sample or agreed to take the breath test at the police station and registered a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or over, he had 10 business days to appeal. If the appeal was submitted in a timely manner, the driver would receive notice for his Administrative License Suspension court date. If the driver did not appeal, he would lose his license for 12 months. The new law also requires the lawyer and driver to make early decisions. Choice 1 – When there is a refusal or a BAC of 0.08 or over, the officer can take the driver’s license and begin the administrative procedure by giving the driver the 1205 form which now serves as a license valid for 45 days. Choice 2 – Instead of appealing the administrative process, the driver can just apply for an Ignition Interlock Limited Permit. Like people under 21, commercial licensees, drivers who were convicted of one or more DUIs within the past five years, and drivers with out-of-state licenses, are stuck with Choice 1.