Things You Need To Know For DUI Laws – Jamie Balagia Interview (Part 1 of 3)
New ‘E-DUI’ law cracks down on driving under influence of phones
WASHINGTON – A new law will have millions of drivers thinking twice the next time they reach for their cell phones. Washington is now the 14th state mandating drivers put down their phones or pay up. It’s a crackdown on driving under the influence of electronics. Starting Sunday, Washington State police officers can stop and ticket drivers just for holding an electronic device, even while stopped. It’s a law Brittney Dawkins thinks should be implemented in the Carolinas. Some say South Carolina needs tougher laws on texting and driving. Currently, the law requires officers to see drivers in the act of texting. Plus, it only bans sending and reading texts, not other distractions that come with a smartphone. A bill working its way through the South Carolina legislature would make that illegal, and make the fines stiffer, going from $25 to $500. Across state lines in North Carolina, the laws are similar. A bill working through the NC state house would make that illegal and stick drivers with a $200 fine.
Sacramento DUI Attorneys
Our dedicated Sacramento DUI attorneys have defended over 1,000 DUI’s and we have experience keeping our clients out of jail. We are experienced Sacramento DUI attorneys who focus our entire practice on DUI defense. We are veteran Sacramento DUI lawyers who understand the difficulties you are going through. A DUI doesn’t have to ruin your life, we can help you through this process so you can move forward with life. While many attorneys dabble in DUI defense, this is all we do. We have defended over 1,000 DUI cases, so no matter the facts of your case, we have seen it before and will know what to do. As experienced Sacramento DUI lawyers we fight for you. We provide clients with our cell phones so they can text or communicate with us after hours because we understand how important communication with your attorney is. Call and talk to a Sacramento DUI lawyer today about staying on the road and out of jail. Call us today and speak with a Sacramento DUI attorney.
DUI & DWI Laws & Enforcement
All 50 states have now set.08% blood alcohol concentration as the legal limit for driving under the influence or driving while impaired. For commercial drivers, a BAC of.04% can result in a DUI or DWI conviction nationwide. Should you ever find yourself faced with a DUI or DWI arrest, your first step should be to hire the services of a DUI or DWI attorney. DUI attorneys and DWI lawyers are highly trained in the DUI and DWI laws of your state, and often they can lessen your fines or penalties. Beware of offers such as a free drug and alcohol test-nothing related to DUIs is free, except for maybe time spent in prison. Whether called a DUI or a DWI in your state, DMV.ORG shows you what the penalties will be for driving under the influence and how it will affect your driving privilege. We’ll also lead you to attorneys who specialize in handling DUI or DWI cases in your state, in case you are looking for legal representation.
New DUI law signed: ‘We pray that we are continuing Conor’s work’
Changes were made to Illinois DUI laws Tuesday following an emotional bill signing. About 100 of Conor Vesper’s family and friends came to Blackburn College to watch Governor Bruce Rauner sign Conor’s Law. The Blackburn student took his own life after a drunk driving arrest in 2015. The Vesper’s made it their mission to prevent other families from having to deal with a tragedy like theirs. Any person arrested for driving under the influence in Illinois could be released after posting bond. Once Conor’s Law takes effect in June of 2018, police can detain anyone under 21 arrested for driving under the influence until the person is sober or a responsible adult picks them up. Alice Vesper said if this law had been in place when Conor was arrested, Conor’s story would have had a much happier ending. Conor’s Law will also require law enforcement to create a model on how officers respond to a person arrested while under the influence.
27 drivers cited in first week of E-DUI law
In the first week of Washington’s new distracted driving law, Washington State Patrol officers wrote 27 tickets. Troopers made contact with 337 drivers for violating the new law in the first week, the state patrol said in a statement. Four motorists received written warnings and 306 drivers got a verbal warning. In the week prior to the law going into effect, troopers made contact with 273 people and wrote 118 tickets. The old law prohibited holding your cell phone to your ear while driving. The new law, which went into effect July 23, prohibits using your phone at all while driving. Distracted driving also includes eating, drinking, or smoking. Those are secondary offenses, meaning drivers can’t be stopped solely on that basis. The state patrol said they’d honor a grace period for the new law until January to help educate drivers. Other law enforcement agencies in the Puget Sound area are not.