SC Sen. Paul Campbell charged with DUI in Lowcountry wreck

A South Carolina lawmaker – and chairman of the Senate Ethics Committee – is accused of lying to police after rear-ending a car in the Lowcountry, allegedly while under the influence, according to authorities. Sen. Paul Campbell, 71, of Goose Creek, was charged with DUI and providing false information to police, according to Charleston County jail records. “The charges are one thing; let’s see what comes out in court,” Campbell told The State newspaper when reached by a reporter Sunday. “I think I’m innocent, and I think in the court case it’ll come out that way. I just tell people ‘Don’t judge me on the charge, judge me on the court case.'”. Troopers eventually determined that Campbell was driving the 2017 Mercedes SUV, Collins said. After Campbell failed field sobriety tests, he was charged with DUI and providing false information to police. No injuries were reported in the collision, which Collins said caused minor damage to both vehicles. Campbell provided a breath sample that yielded a.09 percent blood-alcohol content, Collins said. Campbell’s wife Vicki, who was the passenger in the car, also was charged with providing false information to police, Collins said. “I’ve just been told to keep my mouth shut about it and see what comes out in court,” he said. Campbell, who has represented Berkeley, Charleston and Dorchester counties in the S.C. Senate since 2007, chairs the Senate Ethics Committee. Savage represented Michael Slager, a white former North Charleston police officer who fatally shot a black motorist named Walter Scott in April 2015. Campbell was released from jail late Sunday morning on personal recognizance, according to online court records. Providing false information to police is a misdemeanor that carries up to 30 days in jail or a $200 fine, under South Carolina law. First-time DUI offenders face a misdemeanor charge and a maximum 30-day jail sentence, as well as a fine and court costs.

Keywords: [“Campbell”,”police”,”court”]

Underage DUI Charges In South Carolina

In South Carolina, a person who is under the age of 21 and operates a motor vehicle after drinking alcohol will be subjected to the state’s zero tolerance policy. A person under the age of 21 who drives with a blood alcohol concentration of.02 percent or greater will be charged with underage drinking and driving. If a law enforcement officer suspects an underage driver of DUI, they can charge the individual under South Carolina’s Zero Tolerance Law. Traditional DUI requires a blood alcohol content of 0.8 percent or higher. With a driver under 21, a BAC of 0.2 percent or higher will get them charged with DUI. This means the majority of individuals who are under 21 will be over the legal limit after one drink. Should the person who is arrested for underage DUI be suspended under the Zero Tolerance law, there won’t be any prosecution for criminal DUI. Penalties for Underage DUI in South Carolina. Should a person under the age of 21 be found guilty of DUI, they could have their driver’s license or permit suspended or withheld. When an underage DUI case is pending, the individual charged with the DUI is entitled to an Administrative Hearing. If a minor is charged with DUI, things will be much worse if they are suspected of being in possession or using a fake ID to obtain or buy alcohol. When a minor is convicted of DUI, they may lose their ability to obtain sufficient insurance in the future. It is common for insurance companies to deny policies to people who have a minor DUI conviction on their record. South Carolina works hard to prevent minors from having access to alcohol. The penalties associated with an adult providing alcohol to a minor are covered in S.C. Code 61-6-4070(1). There are exceptions such as a minor being provided alcohol by their parent’s in their parent’s residence. A minor can serve alcohol in a restaurant, but are not permitted to mix liquors or work as a bartender.

Keywords: [“DUI”,”alcohol”,”drives”]

Charleston & Mt. Pleasant DWI Defense

DUI enforcement is extensive and aggressive in South Carolina. Your Charleston DUI attorney must be aggressive as well. Ideally, your lawyer should have years of experience, with a strong track record of successful case outcomes. Have you been caught up in South Carolina’s “Sober or Slammer” anti-DUI/DWI campaign? Were you arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol because you were snagged in a so-called sobriety checkpoint trap? Did police consider you guilty before investigating the facts simply because you had alcohol on your breath? Is “Buzzed driving” really drunk driving, as the publicity campaign states? Get your driver’s license back now! Drennan Law Firm wins tough DUI cases, including tough felony DUI arrests. Drennan Law Firm is prepared to put up a fair and effective fight on your behalf. From our law offices in Charleston and Mount Pleasant, we aggressively represent people charged with DUI. We invite you to contact us to schedule a free consultation. Being stopped or arrested or charged with driving under the influence of alcohol does not mean you have been proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. Contrary to popular belief, it is not against the law to drink and then drive. Rather, it is against the law to drive while appreciably impaired: mentally, physically and materially. An effective DUI defense attorney takes up the challenge of protecting your rights through all phases of a drunk driving case. A poor outcome during a sobriety test is not the equivalent of a guilty DUI verdict in a court of law. Do not let a police officer imply that your case is a sealed, slam-dunk conviction before you have had your day in court. A strong defense in a DWI/DUI case begins with a carefully prepared appearance in an administrative hearing before the Department of Public Safety. Our experienced Charleston DUI lawyers welcome the opportunity to evaluate your case, with no further obligation unless you choose to proceed.

Keywords: [“DUI”,”drive”,”case”]